Illinois Liquor Laws
Please be aware that this document is not intended to provide legal advice. It is a guide only. It is believed to be accurate as of the time of publishing. Liquor laws concerning the sale and service of alcohol vary by state, county, city and municipality.
A general rule is that the strictest regulation prevails. Local laws may be stricter than state laws, but may not be more lenient. For the latest and most accurate resource on Illinois alcohol laws, consult the Illinois Liquor Control Commission website.
Online Illinois Basset Certification Course
Normal Price $24.95!$. Click To Enroll
On Premise Course Is For Bars, Restaurants, Hotels. - Drinks by the glass.
Liquor, Convenience and Grocery Stores MUST take the OFF Premise Course
Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC)
Chicago, IL 60601
Phone: 312-814-2206 | Fax: 312-814-2241
General Illinois Regulations
Happy Hour Laws - 235 ILCS 5/6-28(b)
It is prohibited to:
- Serve 2 or more drinks at one time to one person.
- Sell, offer or serve to any person an unlimited number of drinks of alcoholic liquor during any set period of time for a fixed price.
- Sell, offer to sell or serve any drink of alcoholic liquor to any person on any one date at a reduced price other than that charged to other purchasers of drinks on that day where such reduced price is a promotion to encourage consumption of alcoholic liquor.
- Increase the volume of alcoholic liquor contained in a drink, or the size of a drink of alcoholic liquor, without increasing proportionately the price regularly charged for the drink on that day.
- Encourage or permit, on the licensed premises, any game or contest which involves drinking alcoholic liquor or the awarding of drinks of alcoholic liquor as prizes for such game or contest on the licensed premises.
- Advertise or promote in any way, whether on or off the licensed premises of the above provisions
Illinois Laws and Penalties Concerning Minors:
- No one may sell or serve alcohol to any person under the age of 21.
- No one may purchase or provide alcohol to anyone under the age of 21.
- Violation of the above provisions is a Class A misdemeanor and the sentence shall include, but shall not be limited to a fine of not less than $500.
- Possession of alcohol in either an opened or closed container by anyone under the age of 21 on any street, highway or public place, can result in a Class B misdemeanor.
- The Laws Above are Reprinted From the ILCC Website 08/2007